Barcodes

webPDF supports the recognition and creation of barcodes ("Barcode" web service) with various common barcode formats.

 

The mode for the "Barcode" service is set with the "<add>" (generation) and "<detect>" (recognition) parameters. Moreover, the various parameters can be used to configure the way in which the generation or recognition operation will work.

 

Recognition mode

 

In recognition mode, the web service will search for all selected barcode formats in the selected area in the PDF document. Depending on the selected option, the web service will structure the corresponding results in the form of a JSON or XML document.

 

tipp

While doing so is not an absolute necessity for most barcode formats, limiting the number of pages scanned and the size of the area scanned on these pages can significantly reduce the analysis time required for the recognition operation.

 

hint

If there are multiple barcodes of the same format on the same page, it is extremely advisable to limit the size of the area being scanned, as the detection operation may fail otherwise. In this case, it is recommended to select a separate area for each barcode and recognize these barcodes separately.

 

hint

The list of results provided in recognition mode will never contain duplicates for a scanned page. If a barcode featuring the exact same content and format is found multiple times on a page, it will only be listed once.

 

Generation mode

 

In generation mode, the web service will generate a barcode in the selected format and place it on as many pages as you want in the passed PDF document. The output document will always be a PDF document.

 

Supported formats

 

The following barcode formats are supported for both generation and recognition.

 

One-dimensional (linear) barcodes

One-dimensional barcodes are normally linear barcodes that are used to encode values with a sequence of bars with different thicknesses. In this type of barcode format, only this sequence is relevant, i.e., the bars’ height is not important. In fact, this is the reason why these barcodes are called one-dimensional barcodes. Accordingly,1D barcodes normally involve few, if any, requirements concerning the barcode height. In contrast, their width is subject to strict rules, as the sequence of empty spaces and bars, and their width ratio in particular, must strictly adhere to the relevant specifications without fail.

 

Codabar

A-D, 0-9,

6 special characters

Capacity:

16 symbols +4 optional characters as start and stop symbols

Encoded value: A1234567890A

codabar

 

The Codabar linear code was originally developed for the retail industry, but only plays a secondary role in it nowadays. Now, it is primarily used by libraries, photo labs, blood banks, and other specific businesses. Normally, the start and stop symbols provide information about the purpose of the encoded information. Thanks to its typically large spaces and bar thicknesses, Codabar remains easy to read at low resolutions, as well as in printouts with poor quality. However, the format has little information capacity and requires considerable space, rendering these advantages less useful than would be expected.

 

Code 39

Character set:

A-Z, 0-9,

5 special characters

Capacity:

Variable

Encoded value: *WEBPDF$*

code 39

 

The Code 3 of 9 barcode is named that way because of the fact that three of the nine elements (bars) used to encode a codeword are wider than the others. Code 39 can optionally be used with a check digit, but in general is already considered to be self-checking due to its codeword structure. Thanks to its large character set, its variable length, and the ease with which it can be generated, this barcode is widely used by a large number of industries, including the electronics, chemical, warehousing, and shipping industries, among others. The asterisk symbol is always used for the start and stop symbols. However, both the start and stop symbols are also often left out when entering/outputting a Code 39 barcode and are handled automatically in the background. Unfortunately, the format has a very low information density per unit of space, and its character set is more limited than that available with Code 128, for instance.

 

Code 128

Character set:

128A:

A-Z, 0-9,

ASCII special characters,

ASCII control characters,

FNC 1-4

 

128B:

A-Z, a-z, 0-9,

ASCII special characters,

FNC 1-4

 

128C:

00-99

 

Capacity:

Variable

Encoded value: webPDF

code 128

Code 128 is named that way because of the fact that is supports all 128 ASCII characters. Code 128 features a couple of special characteristics, the first being the fact that it is possible to switch between 3 different character sets within the same barcode, which provides greater information density and expands the available range of characters even further. These three character sets do not constitute independent formats, as a Code 128 barcode will normally switch between all three of them as necessary in order to encode contents in as compact a manner as possible. In addition to this, Code 128 offers 4 FNC codes. Out of these, FNC4 extends the character set by adding all LATIN-1 (ISO 8859-1) characters. This format is extremely common worldwide, particularly in the packaging and shipping industries. It features its own specialized start and stop symbols, as well as the option of generating a checksum.

 

EAN-13

Character set:

0-9

Capacity:

13 digits

Encoded value: 5901234123457

ean 13

 

The "European Article Number 13" format is a widely used barcode format used for product labelling in the retail industry – the number 13 refers to the barcode’s maximum capacity of 13 digits. The main reason why this barcode is useful is the fact that it has a set length and strictly standardized contents. More specifically, an EAN-13 barcode consists of a GS1 country code (GS1 Prefix), a company code, a product code, and a check digit. This means that the format is very easy and quick to read, as well as to enter manually. There is also added flexibility in the fact that the country code can be replaced, for example, with an internal code at supermarkets in order to specify the relevant product’s use.

 

EAN-8

Character set:

0-9

Capacity:

8 digits

Encoded value: 65833254

ean 8

 

The "European Article Number 8" format is a shorter version of the EAN-13 barcode – the number 8 refers to the barcode’s maximum capacity of 8 digits. The main reason why this barcode is useful is the fact that it not only has a set length, but also one that is comparably very short. The EAN-8 barcode is primarily intended for labelling products for which an EAN-13 barcode would be too long. An EAN-8 barcode consists of a GS1 country code (GS1 Prefix), a product code, and a check digit. This means that the format is very easy and quick to read, as well as to enter manually.

 

UPC-A

Character set:

0-9

Capacity:

12 digits

Encoded value: 03600029145

upc a

 

Much like EAN barcodes, the Universal Product Code is a format for labelling products in the retail industry. UPC is compatible with EAN codes, and is the only format accepted for product labelling in the USA and Canada. Its main difference from EAN-13 is the numbering system digit that is found at its beginning:

0 - Normal UPC code

2 - Products sold by weight

3 - NDC (National Drug Code) and HRI (Health Related Items) codes, i.e., medical products

4 - Unrestricted UPC code

5 - Coupon

6 - Normal UPC code

7 - Normal UPC code

Digits 1, 8, and 9 are reserved for later assignment. The second through sixth digits are used to indicate the product’s manufacturer, with this information being followed by the product number and, finally, a check digit. In contrast to EAN barcodes, UPC codes are accepted worldwide and accordingly are preferred primarily by companies with international operations. The format is very easy and quick to read, as well as to enter manually.

 

ITF

0-9

14 digits

Encoded value: 98765432109213

itf

 

Just like UPC and EAN barcodes, Interleaved 2 of 5 (or, more properly, ITF-14) is a barcode format used by the retail industry. However, it is used primarily for labelling shipping packages and pallets. The first digit specifies the type of packaging, the next 12 digits contain the product number, and the final digit is the check digit. The format’s name comes from the way in which information is stored in it – it encodes pairs of digits, with the first digit being encoded in five bars and the second digit being encoded in the five spaces that follow these bars. The advantage of this approach is that it allows for a relatively high information density.

The original ITF format did not have any character limitations, but it has also fallen into disuse.

 

Two-dimensional barcodes

In two-dimensional barcodes, a value is encoded in a two-dimensional plane with the use of black and white pixels. 2D barcodes usually have a significantly greater information capacity than linear barcodes, but their higher complexity also means that, in some cases, they are considerably more prone to image errors. This, in turn, means that they need an error correction method. Both the height and width of 2D barcodes are subject to strict rules, as every pixel on the code can potentially contain important information. Accordingly, these formats very frequently involve requirements concerning the available heights and widths, width-to-height ratios, and the geometric shape of the barcode in general.

 

Data Matrix

Character set:

ASCII (1-255)

Capacity:

Variable

Encoded value: webPDF

data matrix

 

The contents in a Data Matrix code are encoded in the data region by using filled and empty cells. Depending on the selected type, these barcodes will have either a rectangular or square basic shape. Data Matrix barcodes feature a solid line at the left and bottom margins and segmented lines at the top and right margins – on one hand, this makes it possible to locate the barcode; on the other hand, it makes it possible to determine whether the barcode has been rotated. Data Matrix barcodes feature an integrated error correction mechanism based on the Reed-Solomon algorithm. This mechanism ensures that parts of the matrix can be recovered even if the code has been heavily damaged.

 

hint

When using the web service to recognize Data Matrix barcodes, it is absolutely necessary to make sure that the image area being scanned is limited to the Data Matrix barcode so that the barcode will be as centred within the area as possible. It is important to avoid sources of error such as text and other images as much as possible. In addition, Data Matrix barcodes require a "quiet zone" (a frame) around them without fail. The width of this quiet zone must be at least equal to the length of an encoding symbol’s side.

Example: If a Data Matrix cell is 2 pixels by 2 pixels, the quiet zone must have a width of at least 2 pixels.

 

QR code

Character set:

ASCII (1-255)

Capacity:

Variable

Encoded value: webPDF

qr code

 

In Quick Response Codes, information is encoded in a manner similar to that used for Data Matrix codes, with filled and empty squares being used in a basic square shape. QR codes are optimized in such a way that they can be automatically recognized and read as quickly as possible. In fact, they are a very popular way to store information (such as a web address) in a format that can be easily recognized and read by cell phones (mobile tagging). Normally, QR codes feature three position markers that make it easier for scanners to recognize the barcode and its orientation. The maximum conceivable information content for a QR code is 2,956 kB, but the actual capacity will also depend on the selected error correction level. This error correction level indicates the percentage of encoded data that it will be possible to restore with the Reed-Solomon algorithm (Low: 7%; Medium: 15%; Quartile: 25%; High: 30%). The higher the recovery percentage, the lower the remaining barcode capacity – however, higher levels also ensure that the barcode can sustain a greater amount of damage before becoming unreadable.

 

Aztec

Character set:

ASCII (0-127), extended ASCII

Capacity:

Variable

Encoded value: webPDF

aztec

 

In Aztec Codes, information is encoded with the use of empty and filled squares arranged concentrically around a square core. This core not only makes it possible to recognize the barcode, but also indicates its orientation. The resulting structure is reminiscent of stepped pyramids, which is where the format gets its name from. Each layer around the core is made up of two rings of encoding symbols, and the fact that each additional layer has longer sides means that it can represent more data. Layers are added outwards starting from the centre, meaning that the longer the encoded message, the more space an Aztec Code will need. Aztec barcodes feature an integrated error correction mechanism that is based on the Reed-Solomon algorithm and that can be configured to occupy any percentage of the barcode’s symbol capacity. This mechanism ensures that parts of the matrix can be recovered even if the code has been heavily damaged. To date, Aztec Codes have been used primarily to label pharmaceutical products, as well as for tickets for public transportation.

 

hint

When using the web service to recognize Aztec barcodes, it is absolutely necessary to make sure that the image area being scanned is limited to the Aztec barcode so that the barcode will be as centred within the area as possible.

 

PDF417

Character set:

ASCII

Capacity:

Variable

Encoded value: webPDF

PDF 417

 

The "Portable Data File 417" barcode format is used first and foremost to encode relatively large amounts of data. Each code pattern consists of 4 bars and 4 empty spaces and has a length of 17 encoding units, which is where the 417 number comes from. PDF417 barcodes can consist of 3 to 90 rows, with each individual row essentially representing a linear barcode that also contains information regarding its content, row number, etc. The fact that the individual rows are independent from each other means that PDF417 barcodes can be read by most linear scanners as well,. This sets this type of barcode apart from all other 2D barcodes, which require more complex image recognition. PDF417 barcodes feature an inner 8-level Reed-Solomon error correction algorithm, and the higher the level, the more resistant a barcode will be to damage. In addition, PDF 417 barcodes have the option of qualifying encoded content – a specific number of codewords is required for an individual codeword depending on the selection –, making it possible to make these barcodes more compact:

 

Text - each codeword represents two letters.

Byte - each 5 codewords represent 6 bytes.

Numeric - up to 15 codewords represent numbers with a length of up to 44 digits.

 

Output formats

 

In recognition mode, the Barcode web service has two possible output formats for the document that will contain the barcodes found. This output format can be defined with the "outputFormat" option in the parameters.

 

tipp

The document’s format is described by the http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/extraction/barcode.xsd schema.

 

XML

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<barcodes xmlns="http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/extraction/barcode">
  <barcode type="qrcode" page="61" errorCorrectionLevel="L">
      <rectangle coordinates="user" x="407.0" y="73.0" width="43.5" height="44.0"/>
      <rectangle coordinates="pdf" x="407.0" y="725.0" width="43.5" height="44.0"/>
      <plain>webPDF</plain>
  </barcode>
   ....
</barcodes>

 

Every "<barcode>" element found in "<barcodes>" represents one recognized barcode, with its "page" and "type" attributes providing the page and format for it. In addition, there may be additional metainformation after the attributes. This metainformation may contain further information regarding the barcode depending on the specific barcode format involved.

 

The "<plain>" element contains the barcode’s decoded value, while the "<rectangle>" elements contain the position of the barcode on the corresponding page.

 

JSON

 

The structure in JSON format corresponds to the contexts of the XML structure.

 

{
"barcodes" : {
  "barcode" : [ {
    "rectangle" : [ {
      "x" : 407.0,
      "y" : 73.0,
      "width" : 43.5,
      "height" : 44.0,
      "coordinates" : "user"
     }, {
      "x" : 407.0,
      "y" : 725.0,
      "width" : 43.5,
      "height" : 44.0,
      "coordinates" : "pdf"
     } ],
    "plain" : "webPDF",
    "type" : "qrcode",
    "page" : 61,
    "errorCorrectionLevel" : "L"
   },.... ]
 }
}

Barcodes

webPDF unterstützt die Erkennung und Erstellung von Barcodes (Webservice "Barcode") in verschiedenen gängigen Barcode-Formaten.

 

Über die Parameter "<add>" (Erstellung) und "<detect>" (Erkennung) wird für den Webservice "Barcode" der Modus festgelegt. Über diese Parameter kann die Erstellung bzw. Erkennung beeinflusst werden.

 

Erkennungsmodus

 

Im Erkennungsmodus sucht der Webservice sämtliche gewählten Barcodeformate im gewählten Bereich des PDF-Dokuments. Abhängig von der gewählten Option kann der Webservice diese Ergebnisse in Form eines JSON- oder XML-Dokuments strukturieren.

 

tipp

Für die meisten Barcodeformate ist dies zwar nicht zwingend nötig, aber die benötigte Analysezeit kann grundsätzlich deutlich reduziert werden, wenn die Zahl der untersuchten Seiten und der untersuchte Bildbereich auf diesen Seiten eingeschränkt wird.

 

hint

Sollten sich mehrere Barcodes des gleichen Formats auf derselben Seite befinden, so ist es absolut sinnvoll, den untersuchten Bildbereich grundsätzlich einzuschränken, da ansonsten die Detektion fehlschlagen kann. Es empfiehlt sich in diesem Fall, für jeden Barcode einen eigenen Bildbereich auszuwählen und sie separat zu erfassen.

 

hint

Die Ergebnisliste des Erkennungsmodus enthält niemals Duplikate für eine untersuchte Seite. Wird ein Barcode mit dem gleichen Inhalt und Format auf einer Seite mehrmals gefunden, so wird er nur einmal gelistet werden.

 

Erstellungsmodus

 

Im Erstellungsmodus erzeugt der Webservice einen Barcode im gewählten Format und platziert diesen auf beliebig vielen Seiten des übergebenen PDF-Dokuments. Es wird immer ein PDF-Dokument als Ausgangsdokument erwartet.

 

Unterstützte Formate

 

Bei der Erstellung und Erkennung werden die folgenden Barcode-Formate unterstützt.

 

Eindimensionale Barcodes

Eindimensionale Barcodes sind in der Regel Strichcodes, die Werte durch eine Abfolge von Strichen unterschiedlicher Stärke codieren. Für solche Barcode-Formate ist nur diese Abfolge relevant und nicht die Höhe der Striche, weshalb sie auch als eindimensionale Barcodes (1D-Barcodes) bezeichnet werden. 1D-Barcodes stellen damit in der Regel keine oder wenige Anforderungen an die Höhe des Barcodes, während ihre Breite hingegen stark reglementiert ist, da die Abfolge von leeren Bildbereichen und Strichen und vor allem deren Breitenverhältnisse exakt den Vorgaben entsprechen müssen.

 

Codabar

A-D, 0-9,

6 Sonderzeichen

Kapazität:

16 Ziffern +4 optionale Zeichen als Start- und Endzeichen

Codierter Wert: A1234567890A

codabar

 

Der Codabar Strichcode wurde ursprünglich für den Einzelhandel entwickelt, spielt dort allerdings nur noch eine untergeordnete Rolle. Aktuell wird Codabar vor allem in Bibliotheken, Fotolabors, Blutbanken und weiteren ausgewählten Bereichen verwendet. Die Start- und Endzeichen geben in der Regel Aufschluss darüber, welchem Zweck die codierte Information dient. Aufgrund der typischerweise großen Abstände und Strichstärken ist Codabar auch bei niedrigen Auflösungen und Ausdrucken mit schlechter Qualität noch leicht lesbar, verliert diesen Vorteil allerdings durch seine niedrige Informationskapazität bei hohem Platzbedarf.

 

Code 39

Zeichensatz:

A-Z, 0-9,

5 Sonderzeichen

Kapazität:

Variabel

Codierter Wert: *WEBPDF$*

code 39

 

Der Barcode Code 3 of 9 verdankt seinen Namen dem Umstand, dass drei der zur Codierung eines Codeworts genutzten neun Elemente (Striche) breiter sind als die anderen. Code39 ermöglicht optional die Nutzung eines Prüfzeichens, gilt aber im Allgemeinen allein schon aufgrund seiner Codewortstruktur als selbst korrigierend. Er ist dank seines großen Zeichenvorrats, seiner variablen Länge und leichten Erstellbarkeit in vielen Bereichen wie Elektronik, Chemie, Lagerhaltung, Transport etc. im breiten Einsatz. Start- und Endzeichen sind immer das Asterisk-Symbol, werden aber daher auch gerne bei der Eingabe/Ausgabe eines Code 39 weggelassen und im Hintergrund automatisch gehandhabt. Das Format verfügt allerdings über eine sehr geringe Informationsdichte pro verwendeter Platzeinheit und mittlerweile über einen geringeren Zeichensatz als zum Beispiel Code 128.

 

Code 128

Zeichensatz:

128A:

A-Z, 0-9,

ASCII Sonderzeichen,

ASCII Kontrollcodes,

FNC 1-4

 

128B:

A-Z, a-z, 0-9,

ASCII Sonderzeichen,

FNC 1-4

 

128C:

00-99

 

Kapazität:

Variabel

Codierter Wert: webPDF

code 128

Code 128 verdankt seinen Namen dem Umstand, dass er alle 128 ASCII-Zeichen unterstützt. Die Besonderheit von Code 128 ist augenscheinlich zunächst einmal die Möglichkeit, im selben Barcode zwischen 3 verschiedenen Zeichensätzen zu wechseln; dies ermöglicht eine größere Informationsdichte und vergrößert den Zeichenvorrat noch weiter. Die drei Zeichensätze stellen keine eigenständigen Formate dar, da ein Code128 Barcode in der Regel zwischen allen drei Zeichensätzen beliebig wechselt, um den Inhalt möglichst kompakt abbilden zu können. Code 128 bietet darüber hinaus 4 Funktionszeichen an, von denen beispielsweise FNC4 den Zeichensatz nochmals um alle LATIN-1 (ISO-8859-1) Zeichen erweitert. Das Format ist weltweit vorallem in Verpackung und Versand sehr gebräuchlich. Er verfügt über eigene spezialisierte Start- und Stop-Zeichen und die Möglichkeit, eine Prüfsumme zu erstellen.

 

EAN 13

Zeichensatz:

0-9

Kapazität:

13 Ziffern

Codierter Wert: 5901234123457

ean 13

 

Das Format "European Article Number 13" ist ein weit verbreitetes Barcode-Format zur Produktmarkierung im Einzelhandel - die Zahl 13 bezieht sich auf die maximale Kapazität von 13 Ziffern. Der Barcode ist vor allem deshalb interessant, weil er über eine feste Länge und einen strikt standardisierten Inhalt verfügt. Ein EAN 13 Barcode besteht aus einem GS1 Länderpräfix, der Unternehmensnummer, der eigentlichen Artikelnummer und einer Prüfziffer. Insgesamt ist das Format damit ein sehr leicht und schnell lesbarer Code, der auch eine problemlose manuelle Eingabe ermöglicht. Der Ländercode kann zum Beispiel in Supermärkten auch durch einen internen Code ersetzt werden, der die Verwendung des Produkts spezifiziert.

 

EAN 8

Zeichensatz:

0-9

Kapazität:

8 Ziffern

Codierter Wert: 65833254

ean 8

 

Das Format "European Article Number 8" ist eine kürzere Form des EAN 13 Barcodes - die Zahl 8 bezieht sich auf die maximale Kapazität von 8 Ziffern. Der Barcode ist vorallem deshalb interessant, weil er eine feste und vorallem vergleichsweise sehr kurze Länge besitzt. Ein EAN-8 Barcode ist vorallem zur Produktmarkierung all jener Produkte gedacht, für die ein EAN 13 Barcode zu lang wäre. Ein EAN 8 Barcode besteht aus einem GS1 Länderpräfix, der eigentlichen Artikelnummer und einer Prüfziffer. Insgesamt ist das Format damit ein sehr leicht und schnell lesbarer Code, der auch eine problemlose manuelle Eingabe ermöglicht.

 

UPC A

Zeichensatz:

0-9

Kapazität:

12 Ziffern

Codierter Wert: 03600029145

upc a

 

Der Universal Product Code ist ähnlich wie die EAN-Barcodes ein Format zur Produktmarkierung im Einzelhandel, die kompatibel zu EAN-Codes sind. UPC ist das einzige in den USA und Kanada akzeptierte Format zur Produktmarkierung und unterscheidet sich von EAN 13 vorallem durch die vorangestellte Verwendungsziffer:

0 - normaler UPC-Code

2 - Produkte, die nach Gewicht berechnet werden

3 - NDC (National Drug Code) und HRI (Health Related Items) Codes - also medizinische Produkte

4 - Uneingeschränkter UPC-Code

5 - Gutschein

6 - normaler UPC-Code

7 - normaler UPC-Codex

Die Ziffern 1,8 und 9 sind für spätere Zuweisungen reserviert. Die zweite bis sechste Ziffer geben den Hersteller des Produktes an, darauf folgt die Artikelnummer und schließlich die Prüfziffer. UPC Codes werden anders als EAN-Barcodes weltweit akzeptiert und daher vorallem von international agierenden Unternehmen bevorzugt verwendet. Das Format ist leicht und schnell lesbar und ermöglicht eine problemlose manuelle Eingabe.

 

ITF

0-9

14 Ziffern

Codierter Wert: 98765432109213

itf

 

Ähnlich wie UPC- und EAN-Barcodes ist Interleaved 2 of 5 (genauer ITF-14) ein Barcodeformat, das im Einzelhandel genutzt wird. ITF-14 wird dabei aber vorallem zur Markierung von Versandverpackungen und Paletten genutzt. Die erste Ziffer gibt hierbei die Packungsart an, die nächsten 12 Ziffern enthalten die Artikelnummer und die letzte Ziffer ist die Prüfziffer. Das Format erhält seinen Namen durch die Art, in der Informationen abgelegt werden - zwei Ziffern werden je paarweise abgebildet, wobei die erste Ziffer durch fünf Striche und die zweite durch die fünf hinter diesen Strichen liegenden Lücken dargestellt werden; dadurch wird eine relativ hohe Informationsdichte erreicht.

Das Ursprungsformat ITF verfügte über keinerlei Zeichenlimitierungen, ist allerdings nicht mehr wirklich gebräuchlich.

 

Zweidimensionale Barcodes

Zweidimensionale Barcodes codieren ihren Wert in einer zweidimensionalen Ebene in Form schwarzer und weißer Pixel. Sie verfügen in der Regel über eine wesentlich höhere Informationskapazität als 1D-Barcodes, sind aber aufgrund der höheren Komplexität auch teils wesentlich anfälliger für Bildfehler, woraus die Notwendigkeit eines Verfahrens zur Fehlerkorrektur resultiert. Bei 2D-Barcodes ist sowohl deren Höhe als auch Breite stark reglementiert, denn potentiell enthält jeder Bildpunkt des Codes wichtige Informationen. Sie stellen somit sehr häufig Anforderungen an die wählbaren Höhen und Breiten, die Seitenverhältnisse oder allgemein die geometrische Form des Barcodes.

 

DataMatrix

Zeichensatz:

ASCII(1-255)

Kapazität:

Variabel

Codierter Wert: webPDF

data matrix

 

DataMatrix codiert die übergebenen Inhalte im Datenbereich durch gefüllte und leere Quadrate und verfügt dabei (je nach gewähltem Typus) entweder über eine quadratische oder rechteckige Grundform. Die DataMatrix verfügt über einen durchgezogenen Rand am linken und unteren Rand und über segmentierte Linien am oberen und rechten Rand - über diesen Rand ist einerseits der Barcode lokalisierbar und andererseits ist seine Rotation so feststellbar. Ein DataMatrix-Barcode verfügt über eine integrierte Fehlerkorrektur nach dem Reed-Solomon-Algorithmus, womit Teile der Matrix auch nach starken Beschädigungen des Codes regeneriert werden können.

 

hint

Bei der Erkennung von DataMatrix-Barcodes mittels des Webservices ist dringend darauf zu achten, dass der untersuchte Bildbereich auf den DataMatrix-Code beschränkt wird, sodass sich der DataMatrix-Code möglichst im Zentrum des Bereichs befindet. Störquellen wie Schrift oder andere Bilder sollten möglichst vermieden werden. Desweiteren erfordert ein DataMatrix-Code rundherum dringend einen "Ruhebereich" (also Rahmen), dessen Breite mindestens der Seitenlänge eines Codierungszeichens entsprechen soll.

Beispiel: Entspricht ein DataMatrix-Punkt also zum Beispiel 2 mal 2 Pixeln, so muss der Ruhebereich mindestens 2 Pixel breit sein.

 

QR Code

Zeichensatz:

ASCII(1-255)

Kapazität:

Variabel

Codierter Wert: webPDF

qr code

 

Quick Response Codes codieren Informationen ähnlich wie eine DataMatrix durch gefüllte und leere Quadrate in einer quadratischen Grundform. QR-Codes sind dahingehend optimiert, möglichst schnell maschinell erkannt und gelesen werden zu können. Gerade im Mobiltelefon-Umfeld sind QR-Codes sehr beliebt, um Informationen (wie beispielsweise eine Webadresse) in einem einfach abgreifbaren Format zu hinterlegen. (Mobile Tagging). QR-Codes verfügen in der Regel über drei Positionsmarker, die dem Lesegerät die Erkennung des Barcodes und dessen Orientierung vereinfachen. Der maximal denkbare Informationsgehalt eines QR-Codes beträgt 2,956 kB, allerdings hängt diese Kapazität auch vom gewählten Fehlerkorrekturlevel ab. Das Fehlerkorrekturlevel gibt an, wie viel Prozent der codierten Daten mittels des Reed-Solomon-Algorithmus abgesichert werden sollen (Low 7%, Medium 15%, Quartile 25%, High 30%). Entsprechend diesem Wert sinkt allerdings auch die verbleibende Kapazität des Codes - je höher das Level gewählt wird, desto stärkeren Beschädigungen hält allerdings der Barcode stand, bevor er unlesbar wird.

 

Aztec

Zeichensatz:

ASCII(0-127), Extended ASCII

Kapazität:

Variabel

Codierter Wert: webPDF

aztec

 

Aztec-Codes codieren Information, indem sie leere und gefüllte Quadrate konzentrisch um ein quadratisches Kernelement herum anordnen. Das Kernelement ermöglicht die Erkennung des Barcodes und gibt zudem die Orientierung des Barcodes an. Die entstehende Struktur erinnert an eine Stufenpyramide, daher der Name des Formats. Jede hinzugefügte Ebene kann mit steigender Seitenlänge mehr Daten abbilden und besteht aus zwei Ringen von Codierungszeichen. Ebenen werden vom Kern aus nach Bedarf außen angefügt, womit Aztec-Codes mit steigender Länge der codierten Nachricht immer mehr Fläche benötigen. Ein Aztec-Barcode verfügt über eine integrierte stufenlose, prozentuale Fehlerkorrektur nach dem Reed-Solomon-Algorithmus, womit Teile der Matrix auch nach starken Beschädigungen des Codes regeneriert werden können. Aztec-Codes werden bislang vorallem zur Beschriftung pharmazeutischer Produkte und auf Fahrkarten öffentlicher Verkehrsnetze eingesetzt.

 

hint

Bei der Erkennung von Aztec-Barcodes mittels des Webservices ist dringend darauf zu achten, dass der untersuchte Bildbereich auf den Aztec-Code beschränkt wird, sodass sich der Code möglichst im Zentrum des Bereichs befindet.

 

PDF 417

Zeichensatz:

ASCII

Kapazität:

Variabel

Codierter Wert: webPDF

PDF 417

 

Das Barcode-Format "Portable Data Format 417" dient in erster Linie der Codierung größerer Datenmengen. Jedes Muster des Codes besteht hierbei aus 4 Stäben und 4 Leerflächen und jedes dieser Muster ist 17 Codierungseinheiten lang, daher die Bezeichnung 417. PDF417-Barcodes können aus 3 bis 90 Reihen bestehen, von denen jede einzelne im Grunde einen 1D-Barcode darstellt; jede dieser Zeilen enthält Informationen bezüglich ihres Inhaltes, ihrer Zeilennummer und ähnliches. Aufgrund dieser Eigenständigkeit der einzelnen Zeilen können PDF417-Barcodes problemlos auch von den meisten linearen Scannern gelesen werden, was sie deutlich von allen anderen 2D-Barcodes abhebt, die eine komplexere Bilderkennung benötigen. PDF417-Barcodes realisieren eine interne 8-stufige Reed-Solomon-Fehlerkorrektur und sind somit je nach Stufe resistenter gegen Beschädigungen des Codes. PDF 417 ermöglicht zusätzlich die Qualifizierung des codierten Inhaltes - je nach Wahl wird für ein einzelnes Codewort eine bestimmte Anzahl an Codeworten benötigt - wodurch der Barcode verdichtet werden kann:

 

Text - ein Codewort bildet zwei Buchstaben ab.

Byte - je 5 Codewörter bilden 6 Bytes ab.

Numeric - bis zu 15 Codewörter bilden Zahlen mit einer Länge von bis zu 44 Ziffern ab.

 

Ausgabeformate

 

Der Barcode-Webservice erlaubt im Erkennungsmodus zwei verschiedene Ausgabeformate für das Dokument mit den gefundenen Barcodes. Das Ausgabeformat kann über die Option "outputFormat" bei den Parametern bestimmt werden.

 

tipp

Das Format des Dokuments wird über das Schema http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/extraction/barcode.xsd beschrieben.

 

XML

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<barcodes xmlns="http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/extraction/barcode">
  <barcode type="qrcode" page="61" errorCorrectionLevel="L">
      <rectangle coordinates="user" x="407.0" y="73.0" width="43.5" height="44.0"/>
      <rectangle coordinates="pdf" x="407.0" y="725.0" width="43.5" height="44.0"/>
      <plain>webPDF</plain>
  </barcode>
   ....
</barcodes>

 

Jedes in "<barcodes>" enthaltene "<barcode>"-Element repräsentiert einen erkannten Barcode; dessen Attribute "page" und "type" geben Seite und Format des Barcodes an. Darüber hinaus können Attribute zusätzlichen Metainformationen folgen, die abhängig vom Barcodeformat weitere Informationen über den Barcode enthalten können.

 

Das Element "<plain>" enthält den decodierten Wert des Barcodes, und die Elemente "<rectangle>" die Position des Barcodes in der Seite.

 

JSON

 

Die Struktur im JSON-Format entspricht den Inhalten der XML-Struktur.

 

{
"barcodes" : {
  "barcode" : [ {
    "rectangle" : [ {
      "x" : 407.0,
      "y" : 73.0,
      "width" : 43.5,
      "height" : 44.0,
      "coordinates" : "user"
     }, {
      "x" : 407.0,
      "y" : 725.0,
      "width" : 43.5,
      "height" : 44.0,
      "coordinates" : "pdf"
     } ],
    "plain" : "webPDF",
    "type" : "qrcode",
    "page" : 61,
    "errorCorrectionLevel" : "L"
   },.... ]
 }
}