Conversion

By default, webPDF uses Oracle's integrated "Outside In" toolbox in order to convert third-party formats (e.g., Office documents and image file formats) to PDF format. This toolbox is used both by the portal and by the "Converter" web service.

 

The external toolbox is located in the "outsidein/" subdirectory, found in webPDF's installation directory.

 

webPDF supports all file formats that can be loaded by “Outside In” and that can be stored in PDF format.

 

hint

Alternatively, Microsoft Office documents can also be converted directly with Microsoft Office and Word documents can be converted with SharePoint.

 

webPDF will automatically detect formats, i.e., you do not need to specify the file type of the file being converted. webPDF will not use the file extension as a basis when detecting formats, but will use the file contents as a basis instead. When a format is recognized, it will be assigned to the corresponding "mime-type" and the appropriate converter will be called.

 

You can find an up-to-date list of supported formats at:

 

http://docs.oracle.com/outsidein/853/oit/supportdocs/ds_oitfiles_8_5_3.pdf

 

hint

The list includes all formats supported by "Outside In". webPDF only uses the PDF export function provided by "Outside In." Please note that not all of the formats listed (e.g. audio or video formats) can be stored in PDF format.

 

As of this writing, webPDF uses version 8.5.3. of Outside In PDF Export.

 

Oracle Outside In PDF Export © 1993, 2016 Oracle.

The software is based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.

 

hint

Please note that the converter will not require or use the original application (i.e., the application to which the original file format corresponds). File formats will always be converted directly by the converter. This means that there might be differences between the converted document and the original document.

Konvertierung

Zur Konvertierung von Fremdformaten (z.B. Office-Dokumenten oder Grafik-Formaten) in das PDF-Format setzt webPDF als Standard die integrierte Toolbox "Outside In" von Oracle ein. Die Toolbox wird in der Portalseite bzw. dem Webservice "Converter" verwendet.

 

Die externe Toolbox befindet sich in dem Unterverzeichnis "outsidein/" im Installationsverzeichnis von webPDF.

 

webPDF unterstützt alle Dateiformate, die durch "Outside In" geladen bzw. im PDF-Format gespeichert werden können.

 

webPDF führt eine automatische Formaterkennung durch, d.h. Sie müssen den Dateityp der Datei nicht angeben, die konvertiert werden soll. webPDF führt keine Erkennung über die Dateiendung durch, sondern führt eine Erkennung des Dateiinhaltes durch. Wird ein Format erkannt, dann wird es einem entsprechenden "mime-type" zugeordnet und der entsprechende Konverter wird aufgerufen.

 

Eine aktuelle Liste der Formate finden Sie unter:

 

http://docs.oracle.com/outsidein/853/oit/supportdocs/ds_oitfiles_8_5_3.pdf

 

hint

Die Liste enthält alle durch "Outside In" unterstützte Formate. webPDF benutzt nur den PDF-Export von "Outside In". Bitte beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Formate der Liste (z.B. Audio- oder Video-Formate) im PDF-Format gespeichert werden können.

 

Zur Zeit nutzt webPDF die Version 8.5.3 von Outside In PDF Export.

 

Oracle Outside In PDF Export © 1993, 2016 Oracle.

The software is based in part on the work of the Independent JPEG Group.

 

hint

Bitte beachten Sie, dass es sich um einen Konverter handelt, der nicht die Originalanwendung voraussetzt oder verwendet. Die Dateiformate werden immer direkt durch den Konverter umgewandelt. Es kann daher zu Abweichungen in der Konvertierung gegenüber dem Originaldokument kommen.

 

Alternativ kann die Konvertierung von Microsoft Office-Dokumenten auch direkt über Microsoft Office bzw. bei Word-Dokumenten über SharePoint ausgeführt werden.