Digital Signature

webPDF uses the "Signature" web service to provide the option of inserting digital signatures into PDF documents.

 

Using a digital signature, i.e. the use of an encryption method, causes the current status of a document to be recorded. This marks the authorship of a document and all further modifications to the document can be recognized. It is also possible to insert multiple signatures in the document or to finally certify a document. After this, no further modifications can be made to the document.

 

Digital signatures (or also electronic signatures) use a key pair which consists of a private (secret) signature key and a public key (verification key). The terms typically employed here are “private key” and “public key”.

 

webPDF will need an X.509 certificate with private keys in order to create an electronic signature. The certificate and the private keys must be made available to webPDF via a keystore file.

 

webPDF creates signatures for PDF documents based on an asymmetric encryption scheme also known as "public key cryptography."

 

hint

As of this writing, webPDF can generate qualified electronic signatures only if the required certificates can be provided on the server on an appropriate medium (e.g., file) and it is possible to configure access to them on the server.

Digitale Signatur

webPDF stellt mit dem Webservice "Signature" die Möglichkeit zur Verfügung, digitale Signaturen (Unterschriften) in PDF-Dokumenten anzubringen.

 

Durch die digitale Unterschrift, d. h. die Anwendung eines kryptografischen Verfahrens, wird der Stand eines Dokuments abgezeichnet. Damit wird die Urheberschaft eines Dokuments gekennzeichnet und alle weiteren Änderungen am Dokument können erkannt werden. Es besteht dabei auch die Möglichkeit mehrere Unterschriften im Dokument anzubringen oder ein Dokument abschließend zu zertifizieren. Danach ist keine weitere Änderung am Dokument mehr erlaubt.

 

Digitale Unterschriften (oder auch elektronische Signatur) verwenden ein Schlüsselpaar, das aus einem privaten (geheimen) Signaturschlüssel und einem öffentlichen Schlüssel (Verfikationsschlüssel) bestehen. Als Begriffe werden hier "private" und "public key" verwendet.

 

webPDF benötigt zum Erstellen einer elektronischen Signatur ein X.509-Zertifikat mit privatem Schlüssel. Das Zertifikat und der private Schlüssel müssen webPDF über eine Keystore-Datei zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

 

webPDF erstellt Signaturen für PDF-Dokumente nach dem asymmetrischen Krypto-Verfahren, auch "public key cryptography" genannt.

 

hint

Aktuell kann webPDF nur qualifizierte elektronische Signaturen erstellen, wenn die notwendigen Zertifikate am Server auf einem entsprechenden Medium (z.B. Datei) bereitgestellt werden können und der Zugriff darauf am Server konfiguriert werden kann.