Important information

hint

This page contains important information, notes, and changes to the product. Please make sure to read and take this information into account.

 

Changes in Version 8.0

 

Conversion to Java 11

 

webPDF Version 8 and higher is based on Java 11. The required runtime engine will be installed during installation as well. Please note that an older version can no longer be used.

 

No automatic fallback for Office bridge anymore

 

If the Office bridge is enabled on the server but is not available at the time of conversion (web service call), the system will no longer fall back on OutsideIn. Instead of this, the conversion will be aborted and error code -2507 will be returned.

 

Last version with SOAP 1.1 and old parameter structure

 

Version 8 is the last version to still use "&" parameters for passing parameters and, accordingly, to contain the old SOAP 1.1 endpoints. Starting with the next version, this passing method, as well as the SOAP 1.1 endpoints, will be fully removed. Accordingly, make sure to migrate existing applications to SOAP 1.2 or REST and the new parameter structure.

 

Changed return values when retrieving information about a document

 

The data structure when retrieving information about a document, such as

 

GET /webPDF/rest/documents/{documentId}/info

 

has been shortened / the information about a PDF document has been moved to the “metadata” node (used only for PDF documents).

 

 

Changes in Version 7.0

 

Change to format used to pass parameters

Starting with Version 7, parameters are no longer passed as individual strings concatenated with "&", but are instead passed as a complex XML or JSON structure. The parameters are defined with the XML Schema Definition (XSD) language and are available as a schema at http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/operation.xsd .

 

Deprecated endpoints

Due to the change in the way parameters are passed, certain SOAP and REST endpoints have been deprecated in Version 7 and higher. Due to compatibility reasons, however, these old endpoints are still available in Version 7. It is important to keep in mind that new web services and parameters are only available for the new endpoints.

 

SOAP

The SOAP 1.1 endpoints are considered to have been deprecated starting with this version and, accordingly, should not be used anymore for new integrations. Existing connections to these endpoints should be switched to the new SOAP 1.2 endpoints as well.

 

REST

Certain REST endpoints are flagged as having been deprecated at http://localhost:8080/webPDF/help/restful/. These endpoints should no longer be used. If possible, existing connections should be switched to the new endpoint.

 

SOAP 1.2

The webPDF server only provides SOAP Version 1.2 endpoints now.

 

Configuration

In Windows, the configuration and the working data are now stored in "C:\ProgramData\webPDF". This data will not be deleted automatically after an update or uninstall.

 

 

Changes in Version 6.0

 

License

The "Business Edition" has two (2) instances in the standard version.

 

Users in "conf/"

The user data for access to the web services and the portal are saved in "conf/user.xml". There is no longer a database and no administration takes place via the portal. The user database must be edited manually or an external source must be configured.

 

Configuration

The settings for the configuration in "application.xml" are made via the "Admin area" of the portal. Manual settings should be avoided if at all possible.

 

New portal

The introduction of the new portal has changed the user guidance and the settings for the old portal no longer exist. In the new version, all settings for the portal are made via the "Admin area" of the portal

 

 

Changes in Version 5.0

 

"OOoConverter" Web Service removed

As of version 5.0 of webPDF, the web service "OOoConverter" is no longer available. Only the "Converter" web service is provided for the conversion of file formats to PDF. In terms of technology, the WSDL interface of the “OOoConverter” web service is still present and can be called, but internally, the call is diverted to the “Converter” web service. Consequently, it is important that you migrate your existing applications to the new "Converter" web service.

 

New PDF/A converter

The technical platform behind the "Pdfa" web service has been changed. The new toolbox operates much more quickly - at times even by a factor of three to four - during PDF/A conversion and validation. For this reason, the parameter "pdfa.forceConversion" has been removed because it is not supported by the new toolbox. The parameter "pdfa.forceConversion.resolution" has also been removed in consequence and is now called "pdfa.imageQuality“ because it now has a general effect on the compression during PDF/A conversion.

 

The "Pdfa" web service log

Due to the technical replacement of using the Toolbox for the PDF/A converter, the structure of the XML report during a PDF/A conversion or check has also changed.

 

External Tools

The web services "URLConverter" and "OCR" use the external tools "wkhtmltopdf" (GNU Lesser GPL) and "tesseract" (Apache License 2.0), which are available as Open Source tools. The tools have been incorporated in the webPDF server in unmodified form and are installed automatically in the corresponding subdirectories of the server. Only limited support is provided for these Open Source products, i.e. the integration and configuration in the context of webPDF server is supported, but not the modification of the Open Source products.

Wichtige Informationen

hint

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie wichtige Informationen, Hinweise oder Änderungen am Produkt. Bitte beachten Sie diese Informationen.

 

Änderungen in Version 7.0

 

Geänderte Parameter-Übergabe

Ab der Version 7 werden die Parameter nicht mehr als Einzel-String mit einer "&"-Verkettung übergeben, sondern als komplexe XML- bzw. JSON-Struktur. Die Parameter werden über die XML Schema Definition (XSD) Sprache definiert und stehen als Schema unter http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/operation.xsd zur Verfügung.

 

Veraltete Endpunkte

Durch die Umstellung der Parameter-Übergabe, gelten einige SOAP- und REST-Endpunkte ab der Version 7 als veraltet. Die alten Endpunkte stehen aus Kompatibilitätsgründen in der Version 7 noch zur Verfügung. Es gilt zu beachten, das neue Webservices oder Parameter nur noch für die neuen Endpunkte bereitstehen.

 

SOAP

Die SOAP 1.1 Endpunkte gelten ab dieser Version als veraltet und sollten daher für neue Integration nicht mehr verwendet werden. Auch bestehende Anbindungen auf diese Endpunkte sollten auf die neuen SOAP 1.2 Endpunkte umgestellt werden.

 

REST

Unter http://localhost:8080/webPDF/help/restful/ sind einige REST-Endpunkte als veraltet gekennzeichnet. Diese sollten nicht mehr verwendet werden. Nach Möglichkeit sollten bestehende Anbindungen auf die neuen Endpunkt angepasst werden.

 

SOAP 1.2

Der webPDF-Server stellt die SOAP-Endpunkte nur noch in Version 1.2 zur Verfügung.

 

Konfiguration

Unter Windows werden die Konfiguration und die Arbeitsdateien jetzt unter "C:\ProgramData\webPDF" abgelegt. Diese Daten werden nicht automatisch bei einem Update oder der Deinstallation gelöscht.

 

 

Änderungen in Version 6.0

 

Lizenz

Die "Business Edition" hat in der Standard-Ausführung zwei (2) Instanzen.

 

Benutzer in "conf/"

Die Benutzerdaten für den Zugriff auf die Webservices und das Portal werden in "conf/user.xml" gespeichert. Es gibt keine Datenbank mehr und keine Verwaltung über das Portal. Die Benutzerdatenbank muss manuell bearbeitet werden oder eine externe Quelle konfiguriert werden.

 

Konfiguration

Die Einstellungen der Konfiguration in der "application.xml" erfolgt über den "Admin-Bereich" des Portal. Manuelle Einstellungen sind nach Möglichkeit zu vermeiden.

 

Neues Portal

Durch Einführung des neuen Portal hat sich die Benutzerführung geändert und die Einstellungen für das alte Portal sind nicht mehr vorhanden. In der neuen Version werden alle Einstellungen für das Portal über den "Admin-Bereich" des Portals vorgenommen

 

 

Änderungen in Version 5.0

 

Entfall des Webservice "OOoConverter"

Ab der Version 5.0 von webPDF steht der Webservice "OOoConverter" nicht mehr zur Verfügung. Für die Konvertierung von Dateiformaten nach PDF wird nur noch der Webservice "Converter" bereitgestellt. Technisch ist WSDL-Schnittstelle des Webservice "OOoConverter" noch vorhanden und kann aufgerufen werden, intern wird der Aufruf aber auf den Webservice "Converter" umgeleitet. Es ist daher wichtig, das Sie Ihre vorhandenen Anwendungen auf den neuen Webservice "Converter" umstellen.

 

Neuer PDF/A-Konverter

Die technische Basis hinter dem Webservice "Pdfa" wurde getauscht. Die neue Toolbox arbeitet deutlich schneller - teilweise um den Faktor drei bis vier- in der PDF/A-Konvertierung und -Validierung. Aus diesem Grund ist der Parameter "pdfa.forceConversion" entfallen, da er von der neuen Toolbox nicht unterstützt wird. Auch der Parameter "pdfa.forceConversion.resolution" entfällt in der Folge und heißt jetzt "pdfa.imageQuality", da er sich jetzt generell auf die Komprimierung bei der PDF/A-Konvertierung auswirkt.

 

Log des Webservice "Pdfa"

Durch durch den technischen Tausch der Toolbox für den PDF/A-Konverter, hat sich der Aufbau des XML-Berichts bei einer PDF/A-Konvertierung bzw. Prüfung geändert.

 

Externe Tools

Die Weberservices "URLConverter" und "OCR" benutzen die externen Tools "wkhtmltopdf" (GNU Lesser GPL) und "tesseract" (Apache License 2.0), die als Open Source-Tools verfügbar sind. Die Tools wurden in unveränderter Form in den webPDF-Server aufgenommen und werden automatisch in die entsprechenden Unterverzeichnisse des Servers installiert. Für diese Open Source-Produkte wird nur ein eingeschränkter Support übernommen, d. h. es wird die Integration und Konfiguration im Rahmen des webPDF-Servers supportet, nicht aber die Anpassung der Open Source-Produkte.