Office Bridge

In addition to the option of converting Word, Excel, and PowerPoint documents with the integrated "Outside In" converter, webPDF also offers the option of connecting Microsoft Office (for version information, see technical requirements). In order to do this, you will need a locally installed instance of Office, which will be connected to webPDF with the use of OLE Automation. "webPDF Office Bridge" will be used to control OLE Automation and connect Office to webPDF.

 

hint

When using the Office Bridge, please observe the notes on the Office version!

 

hint

Please make sure to have the required license for using Office for document conversion purposes before using the corresponding webPDF function. Make sure to observe the Microsoft license terms for Windows and Office, as well as the corresponding service and access licensing.

 

"webPDF Office Bridge" is only a technical interface that does not affect the Office license in any way. The customer is responsible for making sure that using Office within this context is permitted and that they have the required license for this purpose.

 

If you have any questions regarding this issue, we will be more than glad to assist you or put you in contact with the right person. Please contact Support.

 

hint

Conversion via Microsoft Office is only available when using the Windows operating system.

 

hint

Please note that Microsoft Office is a desktop application. It is not designed for server operations, and unexpected behaviour (e.g., dialog boxes being displayed) may occur as a result. Because of this, unsupervised 24/7 operation is not recommended.

 

Make sure to also read the relevant Microsoft Knowledge Base articles, such as https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/257757

 

 

With webPDF Office Bridge, Word, Excel, and PowerPoint documents can be converted with the original Microsoft Office.

 

Running webPDF and Office under a user account

 

If webPDF is being run as a service, this will normally be done using the local system account (default configuration for installation routine). In order for webPDF to be able to access Microsoft Office, both webPDF and Office (each individual application) must be run under a single user account if the webPDF server is started as a service. Please refer to the "Configuring Office Bridge" document and manually carry out the corresponding configuration steps.

 

Configuring and enabling "Office Bridge" in webPDF

 

To use "Office Bridge”, it must first be enabled in the "conf/application.xml" configuration. To do this, use the portal’s Admin area. Once there, go to "Services -> Converter" to enable Office Bridge.

 

If you do this through the portal, the configuration will be stored in

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<application xmlns="http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/configuration/application">
...
  <bridges>
      <office enabled="true"/>
  </bridges>
...
</application>

 

is stored in the user database. You can use the "enabled" option to enable (true) or disable (false) the use of "Office Bridge". This setting in the server configuration will enable the general use of Office Bridge.

 

In order to run the conversion through Office Bridge in an individual web service call now, you will need to set the "officeBridge" parameter in the "Converter" web service call. Without this parameter, webPDF will continue to use Outside In for the conversion.

Office Bridge

Neben der Konvertierung von Word, Excel und Powerpoint-Dokumenten über den integrierten Konverter "Outside In", bietet webPDF auch die Möglichkeit Microsoft Office (ab Version 2010) anzubinden. Bei der Anbindung wird ein lokal installiertes Office benötigt, das per OLE-Automation an webPDF angebunden wird. Über die sogenannte "webPDF Office Bridge", wird die OLE-Automation gesteuert und Office an webPDF angebunden.

 

hint

Beachten Sie, das bei der Nutzung von Office zur Dokumentenkonvertierung eine korrekte Lizenzierung gegeben ist, bevor Sie die entsprechende Funktion von webPDF einsetzen. Beachten Sie die Microsoft Lizenzbedingungen für Windows, Office und dessen Dienst- bzw. Zugriffslizenzierung.

 

Die "webPDF Office Bridge" stellt nur eine technische Schnittstelle dar, die keine Einfluss auf die Lizenzierung von Office hat. Der Kunde ist selbst dafür verantwortlich, ob die Nutzung in diesem Kontext erlaubt ist und eine korrekte Lizenzierung vorliegt.

 

Bei Fragen zu diesem Thema können wir Ihnen gerne helfen bzw. einen entsprechenden Kontakt herstellen. Wenden Sie sich dazu an den Support.

 

hint

Die Konvertierung über Microsoft Office steht nur unter dem Betriebssystem Windows zur Verfügung.

 

hint

Bitte beachten Sie, das es sich bei Microsoft Office um eine Desktop-Anwendung handelt. Die Anwendung ist nicht für den Server-Betrieb ausgelegt und es kann daher zu einem unerwarteten Verhalten (z.B. Anzeige von Dialogen) kommen. Ein unbeaufsichtigter 24/7-Betrieb kann daher nicht empfohlen werden.

 

Beachten Sie dazu auch die Microsoft Knowledge Base Artikel wie z.B. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/257757

 

 

Mit der webPDF Office Bridge können Word-, Excel und Powerpoint-Dokumente über das Original Microsoft Office konvertiert werden.

 

webPDF und Office unter Benutzerkonto ausführen

 

Wenn webPDF als Dienst ausgeführt wird, dann erfolgt dies in der Regel unter dem lokalen Systemkonto (Standardkonfiguration der Installationsroutine). Damit der Zugriff auf Microsoft Office von webPDF aus funktioniert, muss  sowohl webPDF wie auch Office (jede einzelne Anwendung) unter einem Benutzerkonto ausgeführt werden, wenn der webPDF-Server als Dienst gestartet wird. Bitte beachten Sie dazu das Dokument "Office Bridge Konfiguration" und führen Sie manuell die entsprechenden Konfigurationsschritte durch.

 

"Office Bridge" in webPDF konfigurieren und aktivieren

 

Um die "Office Bridge" zu verwenden, muss diese in der Konfiguration "conf/application.xml" aktiviert werden.

 

Nutzen Sie dazu den Admin-Bereich des Portals. Gehen Sie dort unter "Services -> Converter", um die Office Bridge zu aktivieren.

 

Wenn Sie dies über das Portal durchführen, dann wird Konfiguration unter der Einstellung

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<application xmlns="http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/configuration/application">
...
  <bridges>
      <office enabled="true"/>
  </bridges>
...
</application>

 

gespeichert. Mit der Option "enabled" können Sie die Nutzung der "Office Bridge" ein- (true) oder ausschalten (false). Mit dieser Einstellung in der Server-Konfiguration wird die generelle Nutzung aktiviert.

 

Um jetzt die Konvertierung bei einem einzelnen Webservice-Aufruf über die "Office Bridge" durchzuführen, müssen Sie in dem Aufruf des Webservice "Converter" den Parameter "officeBridge" setzen. Ohne diesen Parameter erfolgt die Konvertierung weiterhin über Outside In.