PDF/A conversion

The PDF/A conversion is carried out by the "Pdfa" web service.

 

To carry out a PDF/A conversion, transfer the PDF document during the web service call. In the parameters for the web service call, select "convert" in order to enable the conversion and use the "level" option to choose the target format for the PDF/A conversion.

 

If the conversion is successful according to PDF/A, the web service returns the modified PDF file as the result (in the return value).

 

If errors occurred during the conversion, then an exception is triggered on the web service call. The exception then contains an error code ("errorCode") and a text message ("message") about the error.

 

You can activate the XML report for the PDF/A conversion in order to get more details about the conversion, regardless of whether for a successful or a faulty execution. The report provides information about what kind of problems are present in the source document and which ones are still present after a PDF/A conversion has been carried out.

 

The results of the XML report generation operation can be checked with the following parameters:

 

errorReport

successReport

 

 

 

hint

Further information about the options can be found in the description of the Web Service Parameters.

 

A PDF/A conversion consists of three steps:

 

1.An analysis of the problems in the PDF file (see the “analysis” node in the XML report).

2.Conversion of the file to correct the problems, if this is possible

3.Subsequent analysis (see the “post-analysis” node in the XML report) to check whether all of the problems were corrected.

 

It is not always possible to correct all of the problems in a PDF file after the fact when a PDF/A conversion has been carried out after the source PDF document has been created. Some of the requirements of the PDF/A standard can only be implemented if they were already considered during the creation of the original PDF document. This applies in particular to conformance level "a" in the PDF/A standard.

 

Furthermore, it is recommended that the newer PDF/A-2 or PDF/A-3 versions be used instead of the “old" PDF/A-1 standard. These standards are enhancements which have resulted from the practical usage of PDF/A documents. These newer versions of the standard tend to better reflect the practical significance of PDF/A documents. For example, in the current PDF/A-3 standard, it is possible to embed documents with any number of formats, which was not allowed at all in the PDF/A-1 standard.

 

XML report for conversions in the portal

 

The "Pdfa" web service is integrated in the PDF portal. If you convert a PDF document there according to PDF/A and the conversion fails, a corresponding XML report will be displayed. This report is available as an appendix to the selected file and can be downloaded in the customary manner.

 

pdfa error

PDF/A-Konvertierung

Die PDF/A-Konvertierung wird von dem Webservice "Pdfa" ausgeführt.

 

Um eine PDF/A-Konvertierung durchzuführen, übergeben Sie im Webservice-Aufruf das PDF-Dokument. In den Parametern des Webservice-Aufruf wählen Sie "convert" zur Aktivierung der Konvertierung und über die Option "level" das Zielformat für die PDF/A-Konvertierung.

 

Ist die Konvertierung nach PDF/A erfolgreich, dann liefert der Webservice als Ergebnis (im Rückgabewert) die veränderte PDF-Datei zurück.

 

Traten bei der Konvertierung Fehler auf, dann wird eine Exception beim Webservice-Aufruf ausgelöst. In der Exception befindet sich dann ein Fehlercode ("errorCode") und ein textlicher Hinweis ("message") auf den Fehler.

 

Um mehr Details über die Konvertierung zu erhalten, egal ob im Fall erfolgreicher oder fehlerhafter Ausführung, können Sie den XML-Bericht bei der PDF/A-Konvertierung aktivieren. Der Bericht liefert Informationen darüber, was für Probleme in dem Ausgangsdokument vorhanden sind bzw. welche nach einer durchgeführten PDF/A-Konvertierung weiterhin bestehen.

 

Die Erstellung des XML-Berichts wird über die Parameter

 

errorReport

successReport

 

kontrolliert.

 

hint

Weitere Informationen zu den Optionen finden Sie in der Beschreibung der Webservice-Parameter.

 

Eine PDF/A-Konvertierung besteht aus drei Schritten:

 

1.Analyse der Probleme in der PDF-Datei (siehe Knoten "analysis" im XML-Report)

2.Konvertierung der Datei zur Behebung der Probleme, wenn dies möglich ist

3.Nachträglichen Analyse (siehe Knoten "post-analysis" im XML-Report), zur Prüfung, ob alle Probleme beseitigt wurden

 

Nicht immer können nachträglich, nachdem das Ausgangs PDF-Dokument erstellt wurde, alle Probleme einer PDF-Datei im Rahmen der PDF/A-Konvertierung beseitigt werden. Manche Anforderungen der PDF/A-Norm lassen sich nur umsetzen, wenn diese bereits bei der Erstellung des ursprünglichen PDF-Dokuments berücksichtigt wurden. Dies trifft besonders auf die Konformitätsebene "a" bei der PDF/A-Norm zu.

 

Darüber hinaus wird empfohlen, statt der "alten" PDF/A-1 Norm die neueren Fassungen PDF/A-2 oder PDF/A-3 zu verwenden. Diese Normen sind Erweiterungen, die sich aus der praktischen Nutzung von PDF/A-Dokumenten ergeben haben. Diese neueren Fassungen der Norm spiegeln mehr die praktische Bedeutung von PDF/A-Dokumenten wieder. So ist es in der aktuellen PDF/A-3 Norm möglich, Dokumente beliebiger Formate einzubetten, was z.B. in der PDF/A-1 Norm überhaupt nicht erlaubt war.

 

XML-Bericht bei der Konvertierung im Portal

 

Der Webservice "Pdfa" ist in das PDF-Portal integriert. Wenn Sie dort ein PDF-Dokument nach PDF/A konvertieren und die Konvertierung schlägt fehlt, dann bekommen Sie einen entsprechenden XML-Bericht angezeigt. Dieser Bericht ist als Anhang der gewählten Datei verfügbar und kann über gewohnte weise heruntergeladen werden.

 

pdfa error