PDF/A Check

The PDF/A check is carried out by the "Pdfa" web service. This is a special function of the web service for PDF/A conversion. In this case, the web service does not directly carry out a conversion, but checks an already existing PDF/A document against a specific PDF/A standard (validation).

 

This mode can be enabled with the "analyze" option in the web service parameters.

 

In order to run a validation, the "Pdfa" web service needs to be run with the

 

 "analyze"

 

parameter. In addition, the

 

 "level"

 

parameter must be used to define the PDF/A standard that will be used to check the PDF document. If a PDF/A document is provided at the time the web service is called, then it will be checked against the defined standard (validated).

 

In a PDF/A check, only the first step of the PDF/A conversion is carried out: The analysis of the PDF document.

 

There must be no errors already as of this step for a PDF/A document to comply with the selected standard. The PDF/A check does not carry out a conversion of the PDF document (to eliminate errors).

 

Once the check has been carried out, the web service returns an XML Report as the result.

 

If the check is successful, i.e. a PDF document complies with the required PDF/A standard, then the “error code” in the XML report is set to “0”.

 
<result>
  <error>0</error>
  <sub-error>0</sub-error>
</result>

 

If the check is unsuccessful, then the XML report contains the corresponding error code. In this case, the other sections in the report will contain more detailed information concerning the reason why the check was unsuccessful (please refer to XML report for details)

 

PDF/A Check in the portal

 

It is also possible to carry out a check of a PDF/A document in the Web Portal.

 

If this is done in the web portal and the check is successful, a message to this effect will appear.

 

pdfa ok

 

If the operation is not successful, an XML report is also returned (see PDF/A Conversion) which contains information about the errors.

 

pdfa error

 

In order to provide additional information in the event of errors, the web portal makes it possible to download an XML error report. To see the complete report, click on the download button (see the image).

 

This report will also be available if you call the "Pdfa" web service directly from a programming language or from an application of your own, for example. Within this context, the "errorReport" and "successReport" parameters are used to control when and how this report will be returned (please refer to PDF/A conversion)

PDF/A-Prüfung

Die PDF/A-Prüfung wird von dem Webservice "Pdfa" ausgeführt. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Sonderfunktion des Webservice zur PDF/A-Konvertierung. In diesem Fall führt der Webservice keine direkte Konvertierung durch, sondern er prüft ein bereits bestehendes PDF/A-Dokument gegen eine bestimmte PDF/A-Norm (Validierung).

 

Dieser Modus wird über die Option "analyze" bei den Webservice-Parametern aktiviert.

 

Um eine Validierung durchzuführen, wird der Webservice "Pdfa" mit dem Parameter

 

 "analyze"

 

aufgerufen. Zusätzlich muss über den Parameter

 

 "level"

 

noch die PDF/A-Norm definiert werden, gegen die das PDF-Dokument geprüft werden soll. Wird beim Aufruf des Webservice ein PDF/A-Dokument übergeben, dann wird es gegen die definierte Norm geprüft (validiert).

 

Bei einer PDF/A-Prüfung wird nur der erste Schritt der PDF/A-Konvertierung durchgeführt: die Analyse des PDF-Dokuments.

 

Bereits in diesem Schritt dürfen keine Fehler erscheinen, damit ein PDF/A-Dokument dem gewählten Standard entspricht. Die PDF/A-Prüfung führt keine Konvertierung des PDF-Dokuments (zur Beseitigung von Fehlern) durch.

 

Wurde die Prüfung durchgeführt, dann liefert der Webservice als Rückgabe einen XML-Bericht.

 

Ist diese Prüfung erfolgreich, d.h. ein PDF-Dokument entspricht einem geforderten PDF/A-Standard, so steht der "Fehlercode" in dem XML-Bericht auf "0".

 
<result>
  <error>0</error>
  <sub-error>0</sub-error>
</result>

 

Wurde die Prüfung nicht erfolgreich abgeschlossen, dann enthält der XML-Bericht den entsprechenden Fehlercode. Der Bericht enthält dann in den weiteren Abschnitten auch nähere Informationen darüber, warum die Prüfung nicht erfolgreich war (siehe XML-Bericht für Details)

 

PDF/A-Prüfung im Portal

 

Die Prüfung eines PDF/A-Dokuments kann auch im Web-Portal vorgenommen werden.

 

Wird die Ausführung im Web-Portal durchgeführt und die Prüfung war erfolgreich, so erscheint die entsprechende Meldung.

 

pdfa ok

 

Ist die Ausführung nicht erfolgreich, so wird ebenfalls ein XML-Bericht (siehe PDF/A-Konvertierung) geliefert, der Angaben über den Fehler enthält.

 

pdfa error

 

Als zusätzliche Information, im Fall von aufgetretenen Fehlern, steht im Webportal auch die Möglichkeit zum Download eines XML-Fehlerberichts zur Verfügung. Über den Download-Schalter (siehe Grafik) können Sie sich den kompletten Bericht anschauen.

 

Dieser Bericht steht z. B. auch beim direkten Aufruf des Webservice "Pdfa" aus einer Programmiersprache oder Ihrer eigenen Anwendung zur Verfügung. Wann und wie dieser Bericht geliefert wird, wird dabei über die Parameter "errorReport" und "successReport" gesteuert (siehe PDF/A-Konvertierung)