Performance

The webPDF server executes its PDF functions via web services. As of this writing, the server featuresseven web services. Several instances of each web service can be executed in parallel, i.e. per web service end point, several queries can be processed simultaneously.

 

hint

In the standard installation, a max. of two (2) instances of each web service will be run. This number can be increased with an additional license.

 

If all instances of a web service are busy with queries, then additional queries must wait and therefore their execution is delayed. Consequently, increasing the number of instances allows more queries to be processed in parallel and the overall throughput of the server also increases.

 

Adapting the instances

 

To improve the server’s performance, it is possible to increase the number of parallel instances per web service using the configuration settings in the administration area of the portal. This allows more queries per unit of time to be answered and the processing performance or data throughput is increased.

 

hint

If the number of instances is to be increased, it may be necessary to adapt the license. Please contact Support in this regard.

 

If you increase the number of instances, it may also become necessary to adapt the hardware (CPU, memory). Especially the CPU usage increases with the number of instances. Consequently, it is important that the number of instances should be set in a suitable relation to the number of processor cores available on a system.

 

Also bear in mind that with an increasing number of instances, the memory requirements also go up. Adapt the available memory accordingly using the configuration files of the server.

Performance

Der webPDF-Server führt seine PDF-Funktionen über Webservices aus. Aktuell verfügt der Server über sieben Webservices. Von jedem Webservice können mehre Instanzen parallel ausgeführt werden, d.h. pro Webservice-Endpunkt können mehre Anfragen gleichzeitig verarbeitet werden.

 

hint

In der Standard-Installation werden von jedem Webservice max. zwei (2) Instanzen ausgeführt. Mit einer zusätzlichen Lizenzierung kann diese Anzahl erhöht werden.

 

Sind alle Instanzen eines Webservice mit Anfragen belegt, so müssen weitere Anfragen warten und verzögern sich somit in der Ausführung. Durch eine Erhöhung der Instanzen können also mehr Anfragen parallel verarbeitet werden und der Gesamtdurchsatz des Servers erhöht sich.

 

Anpassung der Instanzen

 

Um die Leistung des Servers zu erhöhen, kann die Anzahl der parallelen Instanzen pro Webservice über die Konfiguration im Administrationsbereich des Portals erhöht werden. Dadurch können mehr Anfragen pro Zeiteinheit beantwortet werden und die Verarbeitungsleistung bzw. der Datendurchsatz erhöht sich.

 

hint

Wenn die Anzahl der Instanzen erhöht werden soll, ist ggf. eine Anpassung der Lizenz notwendig. Bitte kontaktieren Sie dazu den Support.

 

Wenn Sie die Anzahl der Instanzen erhöhen, muss ggf. auch die Hardware (CPU, Speicher) angepasst werden. Besonders die CPU-Nutzung steigt mit der Anzahl der Instanzen. Es ist daher wichtig, dass die Anzahl der Instanzen im passenden Verhältnis zu der Anzahl der Prozessorkerne des Systems bleibt.

 

Beachten Sie auch, das mit steigender Anzahl von Instanzen der Speicherbedarf steigt. Passen Sie entsprechende über die Konfigurationsdateien des Servers den verfügbaren Speicher an.