SharePoint Bridge

In addition to the option of converting Word documents with the integrated "Outside In" converter, webPDF also offers the option of connecting Microsoft SharePoint (Version 2010 or higher). SharePoint’s "Word Automation Services" (or WAS for short) is used for this connection. More specifically, "webPDF SharePoint Bridge," is used to connect WAS to webPDF.

 

hint

Please make sure to have the required license for using SharePoint for document conversion purposes before using the corresponding webPDF function. Make sure to observe the Microsoft license terms for Windows and SharePoint; as well as the corresponding service and access licensing.

 

"webPDF SharePoint Bridge" is only a technical interface that does not affect the SharePoint license in any way. The customer is responsible for making sure that using Office within this context is permitted and that they have the required license for this purpose.

 

If you have any questions regarding this issue, we will be more than glad to assist you or put you in contact with the right person. Please contact Support.

 

Once this connection is established, Word documents can alternatively be converted with SharePoint. In fact, webPDF provides a SharePoint application for this purpose. This application, which is called "webPDFBridge" (webPDF SharePoint Bridge), is deployed as a SharePoint solution package and can accordingly be published under SharePoint.

 

For more information on how to deploy the solution package (WSP), please visit https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc262995(v=office.14).aspx.

 

When this WSP (Windows SharePoint) package is deployed, a global SharePoint application that deploys WAS as a web service on the SharePoint platform will be set up. The webPDF server will connect to this web service and accordingly be able to use WAS for conversion purposes.

 

hint

On the SharePoint page, please make sure that "Word Automation Services" is installed and ready. For more information, please refer to your SharePoint documentation or visit https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc303422(v=office.14).aspx

 

The required WSP package will be saved in the "spbridge" folder during installation. Copy the application package to the SharePoint server and deploy the application there.

 

You can do this, for example, with "SharePoint Management Shell" and the following commands:

 

Add-SPSolution -LiteralPath "C:\<Ordner mit WSP>\webPDFBridge.wsp"

 

and

 

Install-SPSolution -Identity webPDFBridge.wsp -GACDeployment

 

 

 

Among other elements, the application package contains a "Global Assembly" that implements the WCF (Windows Communication Foundation) service. The application provides a SOAP web service and can be used with SharePoint 2010 and higher.

 

After deployment, the application and web service will be available in the

 

_vti_bin

 

directory of the SharePoint server. The easiest way to test whether they work properly is to access the web service and retrieve the SOAP web service WSDL in the browser.

 

http://<URL des SharePoint Servers>/_vti_bin/webPDFBridge/FileConverter.svc?singleWsdl

 

Access to the URL will normally be protected with a user prompt. Once the prompt appears, enter a user and a password that have access to the SharePoint server and the "_vti_bin" path. If you are able to see the web service’s WSDL in the browser as a response, this means that the application has been installed correctly and can be used from webPDF.

 

Configuring and enabling "SharePoint Bridge" in webPDF

 

To use "SharePoint Bridge," it needs to be enabled in the "conf/application.xml" configuration.

 

To do this, use the portal’s Admin area. Once there, go to "Services -> Converter" to enable SharePoint Bridge and configure the relevant settings.

 

sharepoint-bridge

 

Enter the appropriate values into the dialog box so that they can be saved in the configuration:

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<application xmlns="http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/configuration/application">

...
  <bridges>
      <sharePoint enabled="true"
                  url="url=http://<Name des SharePoint Servers>/_vti_bin/webPDFBridge/FileConverter.svc"
                  username="domain\\user"
                  password="my_password" />
  </bridges>
...
</application>

 

You can use "enabled" to enable (true) or disable (false) the "SharePoint Bridge".

 

Use "url" to enter the URL at which the web service can be reached on the SharePoint server. To do so, enter the correct server name in the example above. Leave the "?singlewsdl" bit at the end of the URL out.

 

hint

When entering the address (URL) for the web service, make sure to always enter the complete server name, including the domain (e.g., "server.xyz.local"), as login errors (HTTP Status 401) may occur otherwise. Use the same syntax specified in the WSDL under "soap:address" and the "location" attribute if retrieving the WSDL from the server.

 

hint

In SharePoint, set up a user that has access to "Word Automation Services" and the installed "webPDF SharePoint Bridge." Enter this user into the configuration. This user will be used every time webPDF accesses SharePoint.

 

Use "userName" and "password" to define the user and password for access to the web service’s URL. Please note that the user normally needs to be entered using the following format: "<domain>\\<user>".

 

Once these settings have been configured, you will be able to convert Word documents with SharePoint. To do so, you will need to set the "sharePointBridge" parameter in the "Converter" web service call. Without this parameter, webPDF will continue to use Outside In for the conversion.

 

Configuring the "SharePoint Bridge" web service

 

Within the scope of the SharePoint application, the WSP package deploys a web service that can be configured using the "web.config" configuration file. For SharePoint 2010, for example, this file will be found in the following folder:

 

C:\Program Files\Common Files\microsoft shared\Web Server Extensions\15\ISAPI\webPDFBridge

 

(If applicable, replace the installation directory and/or version number "15" with the relevant SharePoint version.)

 

By default, the maximum file size that the web service can process per call is 64 MB. This file will be received with MTOM with a max. package size of 64 kB. You can adjust these settings if necessary, but make sure to keep the SharePoint server’s overall configuration and performance in mind when doing so.

 

The web service constitutes the interface to the outside that enables webPDF to indirectly access "Word Automation Services." On the SharePoint side, configure "Word Automation Services" in such a way that an appropriate number of parallel processes will be allowed. When doing so, make sure that the settings are adjusted as necessary for your environment.

 

Commands for removing the WSP package from the server

 

If you want to remove the package from the SharePoint server, use the following commands in SharePoint Management Shell:

 

Uninstall-SPSolution –Identity webPDFBridge.wsp
 
Remove-SPSolution -Identity webPDFBridge.wsp

SharePoint Bridge

Neben der Konvertierung von Word-Dokumenten über den integrierten Konverter "Outside In", bietet webPDF auch die Möglichkeit Microsoft SharePoint (ab Version 2010) anzubinden. Bei der Anbindung wird der "Word Automation Service" (kurz WAS) von SharePoint verwendet. Über die sogenannte "webPDF SharePoint Bridge", wird der WAS an webPDF angebunden.

 

hint

Beachten Sie, das bei der Nutzung von SharePoint zur Dokumentenkonvertierung eine korrekte Lizenzierung gegeben ist, bevor Sie die entsprechende Funktion von webPDF einsetzen. Beachten Sie die Microsoft Lizenzbedingungen für Windows, SharePoint und dessen Dienst- bzw. Zugriffslizenzierung.

 

Die "webPDF SharePoint Bridge" stellt nur eine technische Schnittstelle dar, die keine Einfluss auf die Lizenzierung von SharePoint hat. Der Kunde ist selbst dafür verantwortlich, ob die Nutzung in diesem Kontext erlaubt ist und eine korrekte Lizenzierung vorliegt.

 

Bei Fragen zu diesem Thema können wir Ihnen gerne helfen bzw. einen entsprechenden Kontakt herstellen. Wenden Sie sich dazu an den Support.

 

Über diese Anbindung können dann Word-Dokumente alternativ über SharePoint konvertiert werden. Dazu stellt webPDF einen SharePoint Anwendung zur Verfügung. Die Anwendung "webPDFBridge" (webPDF SharePoint Bridge), wird als SharePoint Lösungspaket bereitgestellt und kann so unter SharePoint veröffentlicht werden.

 

Hinweise zur Bereitstellung des Lösungspakets (WSP) finden Sie unter https://technet.microsoft.com/de-de/library/cc262995(v=office.14).aspx.

 

Mit diesem WSP (Windows SharePoint) Paket wird eine globale SharePoint Anwendung eingerichtet, die den WAS als Webservice auf der SharePoint Plattform bereitstellt. Mit diesen Webservice verbindet sich der webPDF-Server und kann so den WAS zur Konvertierung verwenden.

 

hint

Stellen Sie bitte auf der Seite von SharePoint sicher, das der "Word Automation Service" installiert und betriebsbereit ist. Entsprechende Hinweis dazu finden Sie in Ihrer SharePoint-Dokumentation oder unter https://technet.microsoft.com/de-de/library/cc303422(v=office.14).aspx

 

Das notwendige WSP-Paket wird während der Installation in dem Ordner "spbridge" abgelegt. Kopieren sie das Anwendungspaket auf den SharePoint-Server und stellen Sie dort die Anwendung bereit.

 

Dies kann z.B. mit der "SharePoint Verwaltungsshell" und den Befehlen

 

Add-SPSolution -LiteralPath "C:\<Ordner mit WSP>\webPDFBridge.wsp"

 

und

 

Install-SPSolution -Identity webPDFBridge.wsp -GACDeployment

 

gemacht werden.

 

Das Anwendungspaket enthält unter anderem ein "Global Assembly", was den WCF Service (Windows Communication Foundation) implementiert. Die Anwendung stellt einen SOAP-Webservice zur Verfügung und ist ab SharePoint 2010 einsatzfähig.

 

Nach der Bereitstellung steht die Anwendung bzw. der Webservice unter

 

_vti_bin

 

des SharePoint-Servers bereit. Die Funktionsweise können Sie am einfachsten testen, indem Sie auf den Webservice zugreifen und das WSDL des SOAP-Webservice im Browser abrufen.

 

http://<URL des SharePoint Servers>/_vti_bin/webPDFBridge/FileConverter.svc?singleWsdl

 

In der Regel ist der Zugriff auf die URL durch eine Benutzerabfrage geschützt. Geben Sie im erscheinenden Dialog einen Benutzer und ein Passwort ein, das Zugriff auf den SharePoint-Server bzw. den Pfad "_vti_bin" hat. Wenn Sie als Antwort das WSDL des Webservice im Browser sehen, dann ist die Anwendung korrekt installiert und kann von webPDF aus verwendet werden.

 

"SharePoint Bridge" in webPDF konfigurieren und aktivieren

 

Um die "SharePoint Bridge" zu verwenden, muss diese in der Konfiguration "conf/application.xml" aktiviert werden.

 

Nutzen Sie dazu den Admin-Bereich des Portals. Gehen Sie dort unter "Services -> Converter", um die SharePoint Bridge zu aktivieren und die Einstellungen festzulegen.

 

dialog admin webservices spbridge

 

Geben Sie die entsprechenden Werte im Dialog ein, die dann in der Konfiguration gespeichert werden:

 

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<application xmlns="http://schema.webpdf.de/1.0/configuration/application">

...
  <bridges>
      <sharePoint enabled="true"
                  url="url=http://<Name des SharePoint Servers>/_vti_bin/webPDFBridge/FileConverter.svc"
                  username="domain\\user"
                  password="my_password" />
  </bridges>
...
</application>

 

Mit "enabled" können Sie die Nutzung der "SharePoint Bridge" ein- (true) oder ausschalten (false).

 

Mit "url" geben sie die URL an, unter der der Webservice auf dem SharePoint-Server erreichbar ist. Setzen Sie dazu in das Beispiel von oben den korrekten Servernamen ein. Lassen Sie das "?singlewsdl" am Ende der URL weg.

 

hint

Geben Sie bei der Adresse (URL) des Webservice immer den kompletten Servernamen inklusive der Domäne (z.B. "server.xyz.local") an, da es sonst zu Anmeldefehlern (HTTP Status 401) kommen kann. Verwenden Sie die gleiche Schreibweise, wie diese im WSDL unter "soap:address" und dem Attribut "location" angegeben wird, wenn Sie das WSDL vom Server abrufen.

 

hint

Konfigurieren Sie unter SharePoint einen Benutzer, der Zugriff auf den "Word Automation Service" und die installierte "webPDF SharePoint Bridge" hat. Tragen Sie diesen Benutzer in der Konfiguration ein. Dieser Benutzer wird für jeden Zugriff von webPDF auf SharePoint verwendet.

 

Mit "username" und "password" definieren Sie den Benutzer und das Passwort für den Zugriff auf die URL des Webservice. Bitte beachten Sie, das in der Regel der User in der Form "<domain>\\<user>" eingeben werden muss.

 

Mit diesen Einstellungen können Word-Dokumente jetzt über SharePoint konvertiert werden. Dazu müssen Sie in dem Aufruf des Webservice "Converter" den Parameter "sharePointBridge" setzen. Ohne diesen Parameter erfolgt die Konvertierung weiterhin über Outside In.

 

Konfiguration des Webservice der "SharePoint Bridge"

 

Das WSP-Paket stellt im Rahmen der SharePoint Anwendung einen Webservice bereit, der über die Konfigurationsdatei "web.config" eingestellt werden kann. Die Datei befindet sich z.B. bei SharePoint 2010 in dem Ordner

 

C:\Program Files\Common Files\microsoft shared\Web Server Extensions\15\ISAPI\webPDFBridge

 

(Ersetzen Sie ggf. das Installationsverzeichnis bzw. die Versionsnummer "15" durch die entsprechende SharePoint Version.)

 

Als Default-Einstellung kann der Webservice pro Aufruf eine maximale Datei von 64 MB Größe verarbeiten. Diese Datei wird per MTOM mit einer Paketgröße von max. 64 KB entgegen genommen. Sie können bei Bedarf diese Einstellungen anpassen, beachten Sie aber dabei die Gesamtkonfiguration und Leistungsfähigkeit des SharePoint-Servers.

 

Der Webservice stellt die Schnittstelle nach außen zur Verfügung, damit webPDF indirekt auf den "Word Automation Service" zugreifen kann. Konfigurieren Sie auf der Seite von SharePoint den "Word Automation Service" so, das eine entsprechend Anzahl von parallelen Ausführungen ermöglicht werden. Bitte beachten Sie dabei, das die Einstellungen an Ihre Umgebung angepasst sind.

 

Befehle um das WSP-Paket vom Server zu entfernen

 

Wenn Sie das Paket vom SharePoint-Server entfernen wollen, dann können Sie in der SharePoint Verwaltungsshell die folgenden Befehle verwenden:

 

Uninstall-SPSolution –Identity webPDFBridge.wsp
 
Remove-SPSolution -Identity webPDFBridge.wsp