SOAP Web Services

webPDF provides its interfaces as SOAP 1.2 web services (http://www.w3.org/TR/soap) in accordance with the "Java Specification Request (JSR) 224." The interface description is provided as a "Web Services Description Language (WSDL)" (http://www.w3.org/TR/wsdl).

 

The webPDF server provides the SOAP web services based on "JAX-WS 2.2" (https://jax-ws.java.net/) and the "JAX-WS Reference Implementation (RI) Project" (https://jax-ws.java.net/) in version 2.2.8.

 

The message schema of the messages that are exchanged via the SOAP interface is described in greater detail below. The messages exchanged with SOAP are based on the XML Schema Definition (XSD) language.

 

The WSDL definition can be accessed by adding "?WSDL" to the service URL of a running webPDF server.

 

The specification of the server (in the following URLs “localhost”) may have to be replaced by a corresponding server address (IP or Internet domain) if the call of the address does not occur from the same computer on which the webPDF server has been installed.

 

The URL for the converter service is:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/converter?wsdl

 

The URL for the signature service is:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/signature?wsdl

 

The URL for the Pdfa service is:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/pdfa?wsdl

 

The URL for the Toolbox service is:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/toolbox?wsdl

 

The URL for the URLConverter service is:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/urlconverter?wsdl

 

The URL for the OCR service is:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/ocr?wsdl

 

The URL for the barcode service is:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/barcode?wsdl

 

 

Parameters for controlling the web services

 

For the SOAP web services, the parameters are passed in XML structures found in the request’s “body.”

 

 

Proxy classes for the web services

 

Most programming languages provide tools that can generate the proxy classes (so-called "client stubs“) for this interface or the WDSL definition. A client application can access the web services by using these classes (see “Examples”).

 

If these tools are not available, then the SOAP-XML messages can be created directly / the responses can be parsed. The messages have to be created and interpreted according to the SOAP and WSDL specifications that are delivered as a part of the WSDL definition.

SOAP Webservices

webPDF stellt seine Schnittstellen (Interface) als SOAP 1.2 Webservices (http://www.w3.org/TR/soap) gemäß der "Java Specification Request (JSR) 224" zur Verfügung. Die Beschreibung des Interface wird als "Web Services Description Language (WSDL)" (http://www.w3.org/TR/wsdl) zur Verfügung gestellt.

 

Der webPDF-Server stellt die SOAP-Webservices auf Basis "JAX-WS 2.2" (https://jax-ws.java.net/) und dem "JAX-WS Reference Implementation (RI) Project" (https://jax-ws.java.net/) in der Version 2.2.8 bereit.

 

Das Schema der Nachrichten, die über das SOAP-Interface ausgetauscht werden, wird in der Folge näher erläutert. Die über SOAP ausgetauschten Nachrichten basieren auf der XML Schema Definition (XSD) Sprache.

 

Als dies zusammen bildet die webPDF SOAP API, die unter "SOAP Webservice API" beschrieben wird.

 

 

Dokumentation

 

Die WSDL-Definition kann von einem laufenden webPDF-Server durch Anhängen von "?WSDL" an die Service-URL abgerufen werden.

 

Die Angabe des Servers (in den nachfolgenden URLs "localhost") muss ggf. durch eine entsprechende Server-Adresse (IP oder Internet-Domain) ersetzt werden, wenn der Aufruf der Adresse nicht von dem gleichen Rechner erfolgt, wo auch der webPDF-Server installiert wurde.

 

Für den Konverter-Service lautet die URL wie folgt:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/converter?wsdl

 

Für den Signatur-Service lautet die URL wie folgt:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/signature?wsdl

 

Für den Pdfa-Service lautet die URL wie folgt:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/pdfa?wsdl

 

Für den Toolbox-Service lautet die URL wie folgt:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/toolbox?wsdl

 

Für den URLConverter-Service lautet die URL wie folgt:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/urlconverter?wsdl

 

Für den OCR-Service lautet die URL wie folgt:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/ocr?wsdl

 

Für den Barcode-Service lautet die URL wie folgt:

http://localhost:8080/webPDF/soap/barcode?wsdl

 

 

Parameter zur Steuerung der Webservices

 

Bei den SOAP-Webservices werden die Parameter in XML-Strukturen übergeben, die im "Body" der Anfrage enthalten sind.

 

 

Proxy-Klassen für die Webservices

 

Die meisten Programmiersprachen verfügen über Tools, die entsprechende Proxy-Klassen (sogenannte "client stubs") für dieses Interface bzw. die WSDL-Definition generieren können. Mit diesen Klassen kann dann eine Client-Anwendung die Webservices verwenden (siehe "Beispiele").

 

Sollten solche Tools nicht verfügbar sein, dann besteht die Möglichkeit, die SOAP-XML-Nachrichten direkt zu erstellen bzw. die Antworten zu "parsen". Die Nachrichten sind gemäß der SOAP- und WSDL- Spezifikation, die als Teil der WSDL-Definition geliefert werden, zu erstellen bzw. zu interpretieren.